top of page

COPYRIGHT 

For more than 20 years, protecting your creations, software, editions, video games, artistic works (audiovisual, graphic, sound) is the mission of the MARS-IP firm in France, Germany and internationally.

 

Our lawyers are recognized and certified by the Paris Bar and members of the Berlin Bar in the field of intellectual property law, in particular copyright. We advise you on the management of your copyrights by drafting assignment or licensing agreements. We also assist you in litigation proceedings, in particular in infringement actions.

Copyright Protection

As soon as there is an original work, which represents the imprint of your personality, you can claim and protect rights to the work in question.

Copyright protection arises at the same time as the work is created, no formalities are required to protect it. All you need to do is to prove that your work is prior art.

On the other hand, since ideas are "free", they cannot be protected. However, you must defend them well and protect them with good contracts.

Our areas of expertise

Protection from the moment a work is created

checking the availability of a title, possible infringements of copyright, personality and image rights, development of 360° universe projects, preventive proofreading of manuscripts, organization of collaborative works, collective works, employee creations.

Drafting and negotiation of contracts

for authors, publishers, producers, performers, developers concerning bibles, books, screenplays, music, audiovisual adaptations, video games, software, licensing, purchase, development, exploitation, commissioned works, or software.

Legal proceedings

 

in France and Germany for infringement, plagiarism, unfair competition, parasitism and other contractual disputes and mediation.

Support for the production and capture

of works, events, mapping, live shows, show business licenses, international co-productions, ticketing, contracts for intermittent workers, negotiation and drafting of production and co-production contracts, publishing, advertising, promotional operations, media exchanges.

Extension of the protection of copyright and related rights

by registering works with the competent authorities or collective management organizations (SACEM, GEMA, ADAMI, SACD, SCPP, ADAGP, SOFIA, etc.). Registration of titles, characters and illustrations as trademarks or designs. Protection of press publishers' related rights.

Optimization of the management of the rights and representation

of the rightful owners with the management companies and control of the collected rights, creation of the ad hoc companies, of management of rights, of edition. Legal audit and transfer of catalogues.

Recent missions

 

MARS-IP is currently defending an author victim of plagiarism before academic institutions and courts in France.

We are drafting the chain of contracts for a BD-Web Series project.

 

We protect different elements of a video game and negotiate the contracts.

 

We advise e-sport actors in their expansion in France and Germany.

Our blog posts related to copyright

bottom of page

Droit d'auteur

​Depuis plus de 20 ans, protéger vos créations, logiciels, éditions, jeux vidéo, œuvres artistiques (audiovisuelles, graphiques, sonores) est la mission du cabinet MARS-IP en France, en Allemagne et à l’international.

Nos avocats sont des spécialistes reconnus et certifiés par le barreau de Paris et membres du barreau de Berlin dans le domaine du droit de la propriété intellectuelle, notamment en droit d’auteur. Nous vous conseillons lors de la gestion de vos droits d’auteur, par la rédaction de contrats de cession ou de licences de droits. Nous vous assistons également lors de procédures contentieuses, notamment lors d’actions en contrefaçon.

La protection des droits d’auteur :

 

Dès lors qu’il existe une œuvre originale, qui représente l’empreinte de votre personnalité, vous pouvez revendiquer et protéger des droits sur l’œuvre en question.

La protection du droit d’auteur nait en même temps que l’œuvre, aucune formalité n’est nécessaire pour protéger ladite œuvre. Il suffit de prouver l’antériorité de votre œuvre.

En revanche, les idées étant « de libre parcours », elles ne sont pas protégeables.

Mais, il faut alors bien les défendre et les protéger par de bons contrats.

 

 

Nos domaines d’intervention :

  • Intervention dès la création d’une œuvre protégeable : vérification de la disponibilité d’un titre, d’éventuelles atteintes au droit d’auteur, de la personnalité et du droit à l’image, développement de projet univers à 360°.

  • Rédaction et négociation de contrats : édition, auteurs (bibles, scénarios, commandes, adaptations audiovisuelles, etc.), d’artiste-interprète, production, licence, achat, développement, exploitation, commande.

  • Audit juridique et cession de catalogues, relecture préventive de manuscrits.

​​​

  • Procédures judiciaires en France et en Allemagne en contrefaçon, concurrence déloyale, parasitisme et autres différends contractuels.

​​

  • Production et captation d’évènements, mapping et spectacles vivants : licences d’entrepreneur de spectacles, co-productions internationales, billetterie, contrats d’intermittents, négociation et rédaction des contrats de production et de coproduction.​

  • Extension de la protection des droits d’auteur et des droits voisins, par le dépôt des œuvres auprès des autorités compétentes ou organisme de gestion collective (SACEM, GEMA, ADAMI, SACD, SCPP, ADAGP, SOFIA, etc.). Dépôt à titre de marque ou dessins et modèles des titres, personnages, illustrations.

  • Optimisation de la gestion des droits et représentation des ayants droit auprès des sociétés de gestion et contrôle des droits perçus, création des sociétés ad hoc, de gestion de droits, d’édition.

 

  •  Œuvres de collaboration, œuvres collectives, créations de salariés.

  • Publicité, opérations de promotion, échanges médias.

Nos liens utiles :

Notre Actu !

Découvrez sur quoi nous travaillons >

Image de Sharon Pittaway

MARS-IP négocie actuellement des contrats d’achats de matériel de projection (USA, Canada) pour un multiplex en France.

Rédige la chaîne des contrats pour un projet BD-Série web.

Défend devant la Cour de cassation en France une autrice d’un travail de recherche victime de contrefaçon.

Nos blog posts relatifs au droit d'auteur